ACT Constitution

Constitution of ACT (a community theatre) as amended June 26, 2000

Amended - June 26, 2000

Article I. Constitution

Section I.01 Name

(a)          The name of the association will be ACT (a community theatre).

(b)          In what follows and in common usage, ACT may be substituted for the full name of the association.


Section I.02 Mission Statement

(a)        ACT is a community based, amateur theatre association with a mandate to:


(i)          Foster and encourage amateur theatre in the local community;

(ii)          Foster and encourage artistic and practical development of Members through exposure to workshops, mentoring and productions;

(iii)          Foster and encourage awareness of all facets of amateur theatrical productions;

(iv)          Collect and make available materials supportive to the development of community theatre in local area;

(v)          Stimulate co-operation between ACT and all persons and groups active in community theatre in PEI.


Section I.03 Membership

(a)          Membership is open to any person who shares the objectives of ACT and contingent on payment of an appropriate fee in accordance with the By-laws.

(b)          An Active Member is a person who has paid his/her annual Membership fee.

(c)          A Patron is someone who has donated to ACT over and above the set annual Membership fee. This donation may be either financial or in kind (costumes, props, advertising…).

(d)          A Subscriber is someone who has paid a fee to receive the newsletter and / or be given advance notice of upcoming productions but has no intention of participating actively in any events set up by the organization.


Section I.04 Board of Directors

(a)          The Executive shall consist of the following elected officials:


(i)          President;

(ii)          Vice-President;

(iii)          Treasurer;

(iv)          Membership;

(v)          Director of Theatre;

(vi)          Secretary.


(b)        The Board of Directors shall consist of the executive plus the following appointed officials:


(i)          Past President;

(ii)          Publicity / Public Relations;

(iii)          Technical Advisor.


(b)          In addition to the appointed officials identified above, the Executive may appoint special interest representatives to the Board of Directors

(c)          The President shall vote only in order to break a tie.

(d)          The term of office for the Board of Directors will be one year. Members may be elected for a second or further term in any single office.

(e)          The Director of Theatre may be chosen by any of the following methods:


(i)          At the AGM, with the rest of the Executive;

(ii)          At the AGM, but for such special term as to better allow for planning of a year’s program of productions; or

(iii)          In advance of the AGM, so as to better allow for planning, by the Board of Directors, subject to confirmation by the general membership at the AGM.


Section I.05 Elections

(a)          Election of the Board of Directors (including Executive) will take place at the ACT Annual General Meeting. A Nominating Committee shall present a slate and the election conducted in accordance with the By-laws.

(b)          The Nominating Committee consisting of three Active Members, shall be appointed by the Executive not less than two months prior to the date set for the ACT Annual General Meeting.

(c)          Nominations may be made by any Active Member no later than seven (7) days prior to the ACT Annual General Meeting. Nominations must be seconded by an Active Member and agreed to, in advance, by the proposed Candidate.


Section I.06 General Meetings

(a)          An Annual General Meeting shall be held at least once each year. Notice of the Annual General Meeting shall be given to all Active Members not less than two weeks prior to the date set.

(b)          An Extraordinary General Meeting shall be convened within thirty (30) days of receipt of a request signed by at least ten (10) Active Members.

(c)          A Quorum at a General Meeting shall consist of thirty-three percent (33%) of the Active Members.


Section I.07 By-Laws

(a)          Pursuant to this article, By-Laws may be enacted or amended at a General Meeting by a simple majority of the Members present provided that notice of motion is given with the notice of meeting; otherwise a two-thirds majority of the Members present is required.

(b)          No By-law shall be incompatible with any provision of the Constitution.


Section I.08 Divisions Within ACT

(a)          The Executive shall be empowered to set up other divisions within ACT as required to achieve the objectives of the association.


Section I.09 Disbandment

(a)          Disbandment of the Association shall require a sixty-six percent (66%) majority of the votes cast in a postal poll of all members.

(b)          In the event of a decision to disband, the Association shall disperse all financial and physical assets among other non-profit groups in the community. Preference will be given to other like-minded associations (community theatre groups)

Read Full Article >>>

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 06/26 at 04:13 AM
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Next entry: By-Laws

Previous entry: The Show Goes On, but is delayed!

<< Back to main page