12 Angry Women (plus one not-so-angry)

The jury has been chosen …

  The dozen parts in 12 Angry Women have been cast.  Auditions were held at the very end of December.  Almost thirty strong actors came out, and Director Terry Pratt, along with Producer Richard Haines and Stage Manager Sharon MacDonald, found it very challenging to make the selections.  The choices had to be made not only on the basis of acting ability, but with a view to presenting a broad range of character types — appearances of age, socio-economic background and such.  Tough as the casting was, the result is impressive, and it promises a great show.
  Here is the line-up, the twelve women who will be locked in the pressure-cooker of a 1950s New York City jury room:
Foreman: Pamela Rowe
Juror #2: Justeann Hansen
Juror #3: Laura Stapleton
Juror #4: Barbara Rhodenhizer
Juror #5: Tamara Steele
Juror #6: Jennifer Shields
Juror #7: t b a
Juror #8: Catherine MacDonald
Juror #9: Kate Martin
Juror #10: Margaret Brady
Juror #11: Nancy MacNevin
Juror #12: Robyn MacDougald
  Oh … about that ‘not-so-angry one’:  that’s the court Guard, and she will be played by the versatile Stage Manager, Sharon MacDonald.
  Notice that the play doesn’t give these people names — only numbers.  Without a conventional name-tag, they must create their identities by developing their character through dialogue and pure acting prowess.
  ACT’s production of 12 Angry Women will be staged in late April/early May in Charlottetown, North Rustico, Summerside and Georgetown.
Information: follow ACT’s website or Facebook page, or get in touch with Publicist Rob Thomson (robthomson @ pei.sympatico.ca)

Read Full Article >>>

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 01/17 at 03:19 PM
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

<< Back to main page