Thursday, November 04, 2004

2005 Herman Voaden National Playwriting Competition

The Award
First prize $3000
Second prize $2000
8 Honourable Mentions

The two prize-winning plays will be offered a one-week workshop and public reading by a professional director and cast in affiliation with the Thousand Islands Playhouse of Gananoque, Ontario. Both authors will be playwrights-in-residence for the workshop sessions. Honourable mentions will receive written comments from the final judges.

Competition Guidelines

1 Open to any Canadian citizen or landed immigrant.

2 Only one play per playwright is allowed.

3 Only full-length plays in English will be accepted. Legal clearance of adapted material not in the public domain is the responsibility of the playwright.

4 Plays must not have been professionally produced, published, contracted or commissioned by a professional theatre.

Submission Procedures An entry fee of $30 must accompany the submitted play. Make cheque payable to Herman Voaden National Playwriting Competition. Submit two copies of the play, bound and typewritten. Plays that involve music in an integral way should be accompanied by a recording of the music and lyrics. Submissions must be accompanied by a signed entry form. These are available from the Department of Drama, Queen’s University, Kingston, ON, K7L 3N6, or through our Internet site at, or by phoning 613-533-2104.

E-mail address: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

The playwright’s name should not appear anywhere on the script. The playwright’s name, with the play title, should appear only on the entry form. Entries will be handled with care, but the Queen’s University Drama Department cannot assume responsibility for lost or damaged scripts. Only scripts accompanied by a stamped, self-addressed envelope will be returned.  If you wish, please enclose a stamped, self-addressed postcard and we will notify you that your play has been received.

Judging All plays will be read by an initial group of judges. A semi-final round will follow. The final round will be judged by Roy Surette, Artistic Director (Belfry Theatre) and Colin Taylor, Artistic Director (Theatre Wum). The decision of the judges will be final.

Deadlines Plays must be postmarked no later than 31 January 2005. The names of the two prize-winning plays and playwrights and of those receiving Honourable Mention will be announced on 6 June 2005. Winning playwrights will be notified personally, followed by public announcement in the media and to agencies and organizations receiving this notice of the competition.

Submission Entries should be mailed to: Herman Voaden Playwriting Competition Department of Drama Queen’s University Kingston, Ontario, Canada K7L 3N6

<< Back to main page.

Posted by EH_Support on 11/04 at 05:52 PM
(0) CommentsPermalink
Page 1 of 1 pages